Imran Khan won the trust in the National Assembly

Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan on Saturday won a vote of confidence in the National Assembly (Parliament) amid a call for boycott by opposition parties. Imran received 178 votes in the 342-member lower house. The general majority required 172 votes. 

The opposition did not participate in the special session called on the direction of President Arif Alvi, as the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM), a coalition of 11 parties, boycotted the division of votes. Let us know that PDM candidate and former Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani defeated the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Abdul Hafiz Sheikh in the Senate elections on Wednesday.

 Opposition parties had demanded Khan's resignation following the defeat of the finance minister, with the government facing a crisis. The Speaker of the Parliament, Asad Kaiser, announced the results. He said that in the general elections held in the year 2018, the PM had the support of 176 MPs whereas in the voting held today, he has the support of 178 MPs.